SEDRA Hall of Fame!


Rider: Penny Staffney

… has been competing for 16 years. She has over 3,000 AERC endurance and limited distance miles combined to her credit as well as many SEDRA CTR miles including three-day one hundreds. She is three for three in AERC 100 mile starts and her horses have earned two Best Conditioned awards as well as numerous top ten placements.

She has competed several different horses. Often they have been horses requiring more experience riding in groups and in stressful situations. She is able to communicate to her mounts the calmness and confidence they need to be successful and safe for less experienced riders. She inspired one owner to give her a beloved older mare to compete, knowing she would take excellent care of the mare and not ask more than the mare could give. The two recently completed the three-day Florida 100. The mare is now 19



Equine:  AM Radiant Force.

Owner: Doug Shearer  AM Radiant Force “Ray” began his distance career as a CTR horse with owner Jean Shaw. He won the 2015 Arabian Horse Association Distance Nationals CTR at Big South Fork..

When Jean decided to retire from competition Ray went to Doug Shearer. With Doug Ray has completed over 1000 AERC miles, including a 100-mile ride at FITS in 2021. He has also earned 5 Best Conditioned Awards.

Recently, Ray has been competed by rookie rider Annie Wu. They have completed two limited distance rides and stood Grand Champion on the 2023 Florida three Day 100 CTR, in the 25-mile CTR division.

Ray has proven to be a powerhouse and a willing partner to various riders. He is a good example of a talented competition horse and deserves recognition.


Exemplary Person: Jo Harder

… has over 3,000 AERC endurance and limited distance rides as well as many SEDRA CTR and introductory rides combined over 13 years of competition. In AERC she has had many top ten placements. To do this she has rescued and trained off the track Thoroughbred horses.

Jo is currently serving on the SEDRA BOD as Sanctioning Secretary and has acted and continues to act as a computer resource person. She has also been ride secretary for many rides.

She is a ride manager who has started her own ride as well as taking over an already established ride when the previous person retired. The ride has done well under her watch. JO has served our organization well through her can do attitude and volunteer ethic. 

 Horse and Rider: Madeline O’Conner and Psophie

They began their distance career together in 2016. As of early February 2023 the team has completed 49 limited distance/endurance rides combined to include 4 wins, 36 top ten’s and 7 Best Conditioned Awards. In CTR they have completed the Florida 100 three times, earning first place twice in their division.

Psophie was bred in 2021. She completed that season with a third place and Best Conditioned in the Meadow Creek Mingle ride in early June 2021 in Tennessee before leaving to grow her unborn foal. She produced a handsome colt in January 2022 and returned to competition by August of 2022. With the partnership back stronger than ever the team has successfully completed 6 endurance and limited distance rides and one CTR, the Florida 100 (as of early February 2023). The team garnered top ten placements in every one plus first in their weight division in the CTR. The team is also in the 2023 AERC War Mare Award standings.

This team handles all types of terrain, has competed all over the SE and along the Gulf and Eastern Seaboard and is definitely a force to be reckoned with. Hopefully their familiar presence will be on the trails for years to come.


Click here for Hall of Fame Criteria
2021-22 Pocita de Cosa Dulce (Lindsay Campbell)Kathy BurnettDeborah Morse and Faarich “Wes”Connie Caudill
2020-21Hoover the Mover (Cheryl Van Deusen)Kyle QuerreyCoup and Gayle King Deborah Walker
2019-20Boomer (Debbie Holt)N/ADenise Secino & WindstalkerChris Littlefield
2018-19Teese (Yvette Vinton)Lindsay CampbellChris Littlefield & FarleyCheryl Van Deusen
2017-18Majeco (Maria Florkiewicz)Yvette VintonEd Casillas & Obrizo Juan Sinsonte
2016-17Precious Beaunita (Van Deusen)Butch DuvalJohn Shaw & Locamotion LassieVickie Thompson
2015-16Farley (Littlefield)Ruthann PivirottoStephanie Sutch & GHP Baile HillTom and Maria Florkiewicz
2014-15FM Spirit Wind (Ciccone)Donna ShoafMaria Florkiewicz & MajecoLeah Greenleaf & Debbie Price
2013-14SA Csea Mistral (Ramsay)Cheryl Van DeusenLindsay Campbell and Pocita De Cosa DulceButch and Sam Duval
2012-13Silko Desert Rain (Shoaf)Wes MaillardNorma Caron & FrenchifyJackie Baker
2011-12Ebony Cassanova (Van Deusen)Stephanie BishopRoxanne Ciconne & Shar-poJean & John Saw
2010-11Leo De Vez (Campbell)Debbie ParsonsJodie Moore & Hadar's Cat BalouHelen Koehler
2009-10AU Temptress (Thomas/Roberts)Deena MeyerDonna Shoaf & Silko Desert RainShelley Scott-Jones
2008-09Auburn Flame (McMahon)Steve RojekDorothy Zay & Smoke Rise DendaraCarol Thompson
2007-08Sanyati (Davis)Randi LavikoffVickie Doler & Midnight TwistMaris Ramsay
2006-07DA Al Capone (Van Deusen)Gini AgnewRuth Ann McMahon & Auburn FlameCaren Stauffer
2005-06Traveston Cobb (Beacon)Darlene KrellRoxanne Ciccone & FM Spirit WindBubba Manucy
2004-05Smoke Rise Symbol (Thompson)Dinah RojekDebbie Price & Novator PrinceKen Anderson
2003-04Felix of Greystones (Oakes-Simpson)Charlie MorganCarol Thompson & Irish RogueJodie Moore
2002-03Sage (Paul)Roxanne CiconneNorma Caron and King's OCS LadNora Mask
2001-02CC Baron Gandolf (Clark)Anita CarlsonWes Maillard & Samia EmirraPat Thomas
2000-01Highly Recommended (Duval)Becky SilerSteve Rojek & HawkDoug Shearer
1999-2000HiFlyin Tiger (Thompson)Marion HawthorneEileen Cornwell & Ibn FerrareWes & Carolyn Maillard
1998-99Irish Blaze (Thompson)Carol ThompsonCarol Clark & CC Baron GandolfRob Thompson
1997-98Captiva (Bostrom)Carolyn WagnerCindy Bell & WamecoEileen Cornwell
1996-97Samia Emirra (Maillard)noneMarion Hawthorne & AprilEdith Whiting
1995-96Gabar (Clingan)Betsy AyersJoy Bostrom & CaptivaNorma & Gene Caron
1994-95Miska Malika (Cornwell)Jewell GriffinBecky Siler & Moyle BrighamBarbara LeFevre
1993-94Kings OCS Lad (Caron)Eileen CornwellCarol Thompson & Irish BlazeBob & Marge Campbell